Diary Of A Happy Doc

Wellness, happiness, great life, fabulous career :)

Becoming a better me

on October 15, 2013

Hi all!!

Sorry I haven’t been able to post in a few days, I’m in Seattle for the national ACEP conference. Going to some great lectures, learning a ton of really important stuff, meeting some incredible people, and i’ll also be giving a quickie lecture in the New Speakers Forum tomorrow!!! YIKES!!! But so excited and so blessed to be in this amazing place in my life.
So there has been a lot of focus about wellness in what I’ve been seeing here- very important topic for us! We all want to have long successful happy lives and careers right??
I’ve learned that you really have to find what makes you happy in your career, what is rewarding about it- what makes you tick…
And you know what makes me tick!? THIS kind of a thing! Lecturing, furthering my education in emergency medicine- meeting inspiring brilliant dynamic people who push you to make more of what you do- do the best for yourself and for your patients… I have been so inspired in the last few days, there are so many things/ideas/practices that I want to bring back with me… I feel like I might forget something if I’m not fervently scribbling it all down!!! (I have so many pages of notes and inspiring quotes already- yes total nerd alert!! I embrace it πŸ™‚
I love what I do. And it takes work to always CONTINUE loving what we do, whatever that may be. For me, these conferences, these amazing people, these incredible experiences help me to stay in love with emergency medicine- and will help me to be the best doc I can be for my patients.

I wanted to include a few quotes from today’s lectures that lit a fire under me and sparked my eagerness to inspire others:

“A lit candle loses no brightness by lighting another”

Amal Mattu: “Leadership: Seek out and foster the strengths in others”

Amal Mattu: “Be a problem SOLVER, not a problem identifier-they’re a dime a dozen. Cynicism is poison.”

Amal Mattu: “Be someone that others want to follow, and follow with their hearts”

Amal Mattu: “Leadership is about nothing more than making other people’s lives better.”

I hope you all have a beautiful day.
Xo
Julie

5 responses to “Becoming a better me

  1. It’s all about getting better by the day…cheers!

  2. Shalina says:

    Loving the quotes! Enjoying the blog!

  3. ourmomspot says:

    It’s important to recharge your batteries by attending events like this one! Great blog. Happy Holidays Dr. Julie πŸ™‚

    • cola1012 says:

      Wow thank you so much!! That means a lot. Happy holidays to you too. Haven’t been able to write bc it’s been so insanely busy but I’m gonna get back to it very soon πŸ™‚ thanks for the sweet comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

