Diary Of A Happy Doc

Wellness, happiness, great life, fabulous career :)

Wellness Experiment #1!! A Juicing Fast!

on September 30, 2013

So after months and months of WANTING to do this, but never having the courage to do it- today starts my first ever Juicing Fast.  I have heard wonderful AND horrific things about this.  I am extremely excited, but also terrified at the same time.

Where did I get this idea? The other day I watched the movie “Fat Sick and Nearly Dead”- not the most flattering title, although I unashamedly will admit that I can at times relate to those feelings! This movie was incredibly inspiring- Joe Cross is just an amazing human being.  So real, so funny, so honest. I highly recommend watching this.

Excited to be doing this to myself you say? Why yes! I am! I am so tired of feeling TIRED all the time… drained, with headaches, breakouts, bla bla bla… AND from all the reading I’ve been doing, there is just nothing good about processed foods. We get the most “bang for your buck” out of foods that are consumed in their most natural states.  For example- raw foods- best.  Hands down. Although its gotta be really difficult I would think to commit to that kind of a lifestyle. Especially if you dont live in a cave by yourself.  If you live with other humans in the United States of America- trying to get everyone (and im talking about my husband and my 2 young children under the age of 4) to eat all things raw- not going to happen, at least easily.  Although Im going to try my hardest to get them to adopt SOME of this.  Hopefully at the end of the 10 days I will feel energized, invigorated, healthy, and full of LIFE! And most importantly I can pass down these healthy eating habits to the people I love the most in this world.

Petrified? Yes, absolutely. I dont want the headaches, the withdrawal, the near death experience that i’ve read about from people doing these juice fasts. However I have committed myself to this and Im going to do it.  I apologize in advance to everyone that I will be in contact with for at least the next 3 days.

For those of you who know me, I am a Diet Pepsi fanatic.  I know it is hands down a horrible substance to be willingly putting into my body.  Gross processed FAKE sugars, bla bla bla… look at the ingredients on the side- nothing in any kind of a natural form. HOWEVER i am so addicted. So addicted. There will be no diet pepsi for me in the next 10 days. And if I make it out alive, I hope to not be drinking soda at all anymore after.

Coffee… sigh.  This is where I would face a problem.  This is a WELLNESS experiment. I am a physician working ridiculous kinds of hours, days and nights.  AND I don’t want to kill my husband in the next 10 days.  So I am ALLOWING myself one 12 ounce cup of coffee q 24 hours. :) Coffee is kind of like juicing a coffee bean, right?  Whatever. The TextBook Juicing gods can look down on me with disgust… this is MY experiment.

So here goes y’all! Day 1!

What I did to make this feasible for me with 2 small kids at home and a really busy life is make enough juice for the entire day in the AM.  I have found a new obsession with Fairway Markets because its so close but I will also be frequenting Trader Joes for my produce.

My Day 1 Kickoff juicing recipe for enough juice for a day is this delicious concoction:

2 cucumbers

4 apples

2 large handfuls of spinach

2 nectarines

3 plums

2 carrots

1 inch of ginger

A handful of Pomegranate seeds

A handful of raspberries

A handful of blackberries

Put all of these things in a juicer- juice it up! and enjoy.

This IS a lot of ingredients for a juice- but I was feeling creative today and needed something I think would taste interesting since I am giving up all the foods I love in life for 10 days.  There are tons of juicing recipes online… if you’re doing this you can try any of them OR just play with it and find stuff you think will work together.

Yes I had coffee this morning, and it was amazing.

I will keep you all updated with how this is progressing… should be an interesting ride :)

juicing fast day 1

6 responses to “Wellness Experiment #1!! A Juicing Fast!

  1. Stefanie says:

    Your going to rock! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tif says:

    I tried juicing last summer. Gave it up cause it was a lot of work! Good luck! I’m sure you can do it!!

  3. thecroatiansensation says:

    “juicing a coffee bean?” I am liking this sort of juicing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

